Using DataTables

WordPress DataTables provide a powerful interface for connecting back-end data to your front-end Website. DataTables give users interactive access to all your data – or to user-selectable (filtered) views of your data. The sample DataTable below displays data from a single table in a MySQL database called “wp_sampledata”. The table contains seven columns of dummy data: Member ID (hidden), Member Name, Address, City, Zip Code, E-mail Address, and Member Since (date the member “joined” the organization).

DataTables paginate the data into manageable chunks of information – in this example, 25 rows or 25 member records per screen. Users can optionally change this to display 10, 50, 100 or all members (there are 101 members in this sample database). Note that displaying all data for very large databases on a single page may adversely impact performance, and also force users to do a lot of scrolling.

DataTables provide powerful, easy-to-use tools to sort your data, search your data, or filter your data. For example, use “Search” at the top of the table to search for a single value (for example, all members named “Noble”). To search for a specific member named “Noble” who lives in “Frederick”, use the filter boxes at the bottom of the columns to search based on multiple criteria (Name: “Noble”, City: “Frederick”). This very quickly demonstrates some of the power of using DataTables.

Please note that the e-mail addresses used in this sample database are dummy records only. You may also retrieve a copy of the Excel Spreadsheet that served as the basis for this example DataTable.

Organization Members

Member Name Address City Zip Code E-mail Address Member Since
Member Name Address City Zip Code E-mail Address Member Since
Acosta, Quin E. 9513 Scelerisque Avenue San Rafael Abajo 77987 massa.accumsan@eratvitaerisus.net 26 Aug 2014
Ballard, Alyssa V. 775-6602 Venenatis Rd. Houthalen 5644UM elit.pharetra@nasceturridiculus.ca 01 Apr 2016
Barry, Chiquita N. Ap #890-9162 Orci Ave Carapicuba 17069 fermentum.convallis@et.edu 22 Dec 2015
Bender, Jackson O. 9967 Non St. Esslingen 01096 Nullam.enim.Sed@conguea.com 15 Mar 2016
Bennett, Brenden Z. Ap #586-5593 Integer Rd. Vico nel Lazio 98-520 dapibus.quam@suspendissenon.com 02 Dec 2015
Berger, Fuller E. 3290 Tellus Rd. Villers-le-Peuplier 08813 Aenean.sed.pede@nec.org 14 Jun 2015
Brady, Whitney T. Ap #876-1379 Semper Rd. Kenosha 08493 est.tempor.biben@pendisfend.net 22 Apr 2015
Burch, Ignacia G. Ap #927-3932 Lorem Rd. Quebec City 28787 Duis.at.lacus@consectetuer.net 01 Apr 2015
Byers, Lysandra E. 672-2551 In St. Bala 17157 ullamcorper@nisisemsemper.com 26 Mar 2016
Cameron, Lee Z. 6983 Consectetuer Ave The Hague Y6 0RD eget@pharetran.net 14 May 2015
Carey, Kevyn K. Ap #466-153 Faucibus Av. Coalhurst 53291 lacus@duiSuspendisse.edu 24 May 2016
Carr, Plato O. 1586 Euismod St. Dehradun 180707 elit.sed@enim.org 22 May 2015
Case, Shana E. 8752 Diam. Rd. Bergen Mons OQ4 6MG mollis@velit.co.uk 27 Apr 2015
Castaneda, Akeem B. 222-8595 Nulla Ave Salzgitter 982238 Etiam.bibendum@velconvali.co.uk 23 May 2015
Chavez, Wesley Q. 6655 Ornare Road Ottawa XH4I 0BO nec.urna@primisinfaucibus.co.uk 14 Mar 2015
Cote, Candice P. P.O. Box 192, 397 Est. Av. Gaithersburg 38741 viverra@nonegestas.net 28 Mar 2016
Day, Merritt U. 6022 Morbi Avenue Thuillies 287034 fermentum.ligula@fermentum.org 24 Jan 2016
Elliott, Carol T. Ap #212-7448 Ante Street Georgia 35965 gravida.sit.amet@tincidunt.co.uk 17 Nov 2015
Ellis, Rhiannon J. 107 Sodales St. Tucson 8876EE in@metusAliquam.org 18 Mar 2015
England, Kiona O. 931-1409 Commodo Ave Bridlington 20708 arcu.vel.quam@mollisInteger.ca 16 Feb 2016
Farley, Unity E. Ap #625-2928 Nec, Ave Soissons TB87 2QG vitae.sodales.nisi@est.edu 14 Sep 2014
Finch, Ulysses M. 542-3943 Donec Road Carstairs 60402 Vivamus@arcuVestibulum.org 22 Aug 2015
Fischer, Fatima F. Ap #169-9142 Etiam St. Banda 85032 sed.libero@mitempor.ca 24 Jul 2015
Fleming, Adam F. 2615 Metus. Ave. Columbia 68-255 ornare.libero@orcilobortisaugue.org 31 May 2016
Flores, Lee M. 2787 Enim Ave. Solapur 24692 non@Phasellusliberomauris.net 07 Nov 2015
Frazier, Alika W. Ap #155-6355 In St. Bowden 02032 penta.magnis@ametorelectus.co.uk 22 Jan 2015
Frazier, Mari K. 1515 Ac Street Przemyl 821752 lorem.vitae@enim.org 28 Jul 2015
Frazier, Preston Z. 803-2397 Ut Ave Lowell 23034 dol.dolor.tempus@aliquamarcu.edu 02 Oct 2015
Garrison, Cameron V. Ap #278-7599 Quis, St. Whittlesey 94058 natoque.natibus@necimperdiet.net 22 Oct 2014
Gibbs, Lael J. 2490 Ullamcorper, Avenue Poulseur 25595 ullamcorper.Duis@egestasa.com 02 Oct 2014
Gibson, Lara Q. 4362 Et Av. Stokrooie 79306-967 purus@ultriciesornare.org 24 Apr 2015
Gilbert, David 620 Old Baltimore Road Winchester 22603 rumseydog97@yahoo.com 01 Jan 2015
Glenn, Erica J. 800-9391 Pede. St. Braunschweig A3G 3L8 sed.pede.Cum@purus.edu 27 Jul 2014
Glenn, Lavinia G. Ap #571-3176 Eleifend Road Venlo 41124 ante@Duisdignissimtempor.ca 18 Feb 2016
Greene, Colleen A. Ap #702-8272 A, Ave Wallasey 07371 semper.cursus@quispede.co.uk 13 Feb 2016
Greene, Orlando X. 5849 Nisl. St. Lancaster RP5I 1WO Fusce.dolor.quam@Lorem.ca 05 Feb 2015
Guerrero, Oscar J. 8940 Non, Ave Frederick 21701 ipsum.sodales.purus@libero.net 06 Sep 2015
Guzman, Justine Y. 868-7469 Non St. Beersel PY95 8PQ purus.accumsan@egestaslacinia.net 01 Feb 2016
Harris, Jameson L. P.O. Box 838, 3371 Nunc Ave Lawton 93740 semper.rutrum@tincidunt.ca 03 Feb 2015
Harris, Keely P. Ap #854-9180 Augue St. Konigs Wusterhausen 55844 vel.venenatis@vehicula.edu 01 Jan 2016
Harvey, Regina F. P.O. Box 875, 4810 Lectus Rd. Burhanpur T6E 2C1 dictum.placerat@utlacus.co.uk 01 Aug 2014
Holloway, Brennan H. 233-6339 Tincidunt. Street Wetaskiwin P7R 4P7 lacinia@tortor.com 17 Jul 2014
Howard, Philip W. P.O. Box 946, 7191 Sed Rd. Vegreville 34171 Proin@blanditmattisCras.com 21 Apr 2016
Huff, Morgan S. 736-2874 Sem Rd. Bicinicco 20314 quam.elementum@perconunostra.com 19 Jul 2015
Kane, Aubrey N. Ap #914-5173 Imperdiet St. Jou?-l?s-Tours 10305 aliquet.lobortis@Curabiturut.edu 09 Apr 2016
Kidd, Adara M. 450-1542 Faucibus Rd. Hereford 06814 eu.Pellentque@scelerisquescel.net 30 Dec 2014
Kinney, Risa W. 169-4084 Mauris St. Lanark 67881 lorem@Donecporttitor.ca 12 Sep 2014
Kline, Jared R. 170-2819 Libero Street Saint-Leonard A5L 0S5 vulputate.eu.odio@mollis.org 15 Aug 2015
Knight, Stone Q. Ap #992-8955 Magna. Street Aguacaliente (San Francisco) 06497 malesuada@Duiscursus.net 22 Oct 2015
Lane, Isabella Y. Ap #118-5926 Blandit Av. San Diego 08416 Aliquam.nisl@semutdolor.co.uk 08 Sep 2015
Lang, Deirdre N. 4229 Accumsan Rd. Hudson Bay 02773 velit.Quisque@nonmassa.edu 22 Feb 2015
Long, Galvin I. 5165 Velit. St. Fort Simpson 31-042 porttitor@faucibusut.ca 11 Jan 2016
Lott, Frances Q. 851-6416 Nam Av. V?lkermarkt 05086 risus.Donec.egestas@convallis.org 17 Mar 2015
Lowe, Dai S. Ap #139-444 Faucibus Avenue Waterbury 41983 nec.leo@luctusvulputatenisi.org 06 Jul 2015
Lynch, Madaline M. 118-4952 Nisl. Ave Castel Colonna 35131 ligula@acmattisvelit.ca 23 Nov 2014
Mcknight, Jenna I. 935-3044 Blandit. Street St. Petersburg 48938 nisl@sit.net 18 Jun 2014
Mclean, Kelsey P. P.O. Box 572, 1675 Mauris. Rd. Geraldton-Greenough 15029 facilisis@Morbi.edu 13 Mar 2016
Molina, Ursula D. Ap #142-4384 Consequat Ave. Assiniboia 06013 et@anteipsum.co.uk 02 Jul 2015
Montoya, Kay F. 6967 Nunc Rd. Sudbury 88098 Phasellus.at.augue@eutelluseu.net 29 Apr 2016
Noble, Kimberly U. Ap #904-665 Eget Av. Frederick 21701 eu.sem@IntegerurnaVivamus.co.uk 24 Feb 2015
Noble, Lacey R. Ap #223-8446 Aliquam Street Llanidloes 52554 elementum.sem@quis.com 13 Jul 2014
Noble, Zena C. 3456 Nulla. Av. Mariakerke 395026 ullamcorper@euultricessit.edu 05 Dec 2014
Norton, Chelsea E. 9569 Lorem Ave Surat A9X 2B1 magnis.dis.parturient@enim.org 03 Aug 2015
Odom, Cameron Z. Ap #961-6695 Proin Rd. Itapipoca 50311 sagittis.lobortis@consequatpur.co.uk 20 Jun 2014
Oliver, Aurora T. 780-2858 Ante Av. Fuenlabrada 02402 massa.Suspendisse@infelis.edu 04 Apr 2015
Osborn, Lois S. Ap #942-4262 Consequat St. Roosbeek 63563 sapien@socisnatoquenatibus.co.uk 08 Jan 2015
Pickett, Vielka M. P.O. Box 712, 3510 Consequat, St. Frederick 70425 nec@nequesedsem.org 23 Feb 2016
Pitts, Chanda R. Ap #893-3224 Fames St. Oria B3T 9B7 nulla@mollis.com 23 May 2016
Poole, Harlan I. 911-7394 Lorem Road Waterloo 78630 tortor.at@Crasdictumultricies.edu 16 Jul 2015
Potts, Candace M. Ap #162-9281 Gravida. Rd. Cannalonga Y4A 0J2 sociis.penatibus@lacus.edu 05 Oct 2015
Preston, Lee O. 888-2004 Enim, St. Piracicaba 55877 cursus.diam@Pellentesqueult.org 22 Mar 2016
Raymond, Meghan I. 8181 Mauris St. Hilo 07580 leo.elementum@vulputate.co.uk 27 Aug 2015
Reilly, Octavius S. 244-712 Etiam St. Macon 60723 sodales.purus@augueeutempor.com 13 Jan 2016
Reyes, Cara M. 5381 Cum Rd. Herk-de-Stad 854944 justo.faucibus.lectus@placerat.org 19 Aug 2015
Rice, Jared A. 9328 Alt Road San Giovanni 33254 elit.Nulla@adipiscing.net 10 Jul 2015
Richards, Lani K. 720-9933 Mauris Street Venlo 11414 mauris.sagittis.placerat@cursus.com 20 Aug 2015
Rodgers, Miranda R. 187-921 Hendrerit St. Kaaskerke 11608 tempus@leo.net 25 Aug 2015
Rodriquez, Demetria X. 854-3777 Ligula Street Beverlo 725922 Mauris.quis.turpis@nonmassa.edu 18 May 2015
Rodriquez, Hasad G. 1172 Donec Rd. Annapolis 93827 eu@vulputatemauris.net 07 Aug 2015
Rush, Hammett T. 1428 Nec St. St. David's 22655 pede.Suspendisse@anteNunc.co.uk 27 Apr 2016
Sanders, Gage U. 8256 Nunn. Road Frederick 21701 commodo.auctor.velit@elit.edu 18 Sep 2014
Sandoval, Tana V. 9015 Fermentum Ave. Baden-Baden 64699 posuere.enim@lectusquismassa.ca 14 Nov 2014
Santos, Uriah W. P.O. Box 448, 3854 Ut St. Fahler 43778 non.enim@ipsumsodales.net 24 May 2016
Schroeder, Regan M. Ap #383-1187 Elit. St. Coldstream 00267 montes.nascetur@sedpedenec.co.uk 21 Apr 2016
Skinner, Noelle X. Ap #791-3955 Justo Av. Crato 63840-323 ac@molestie.ca 07 Dec 2015
Small, Yvonne U. 893-356 Eget, Avenue Idaho Falls 62817 Donec.consectetuer@eu.org 25 Mar 2015
Smith, Shea W. Ap #982-2863 Duis Rd. Manoppello 08613 tincidunt@Donecporttitortellus.co.uk 03 Mar 2016
Snow, Mari I. 393-629 Risus. Rd. Kaster 81136 Cras.vehicula@magna.org 06 Dec 2015
Stafford, Mohammad H. 2195 Nullam Av. Ladispoli Y8S 9X7 Mauris.non@rutrum.edu 05 Jan 2015
Stone, Travis I. 7402 Dis Av. Wigtown 01615-636 aliquet.odio@Sedegetlacus.edu 19 May 2016
Stout, Amela O. 722-1210 Aliquet Road Ruvo del Monte 774688 malesuada.fames@mollis.edu 09 Mar 2016
Terrell, Giacomo A. 5301 Pharetra. St. Frederick 21701 sem@noncursus.ca 05 Mar 2016
Townsend, Ezra K. Ap #329-6107 Elit, Ave Legal 08516 vulputate@In.org 17 Jun 2014
Tran, Reagan M. 922-3128 Dui Street Plymouth 30565 malesuada.augue@adipiscing.ca 23 Jul 2015
Walton, Brynne J. 4246 Parturient St. Doues 07666 metus.eu.erat@disparturient.org 11 Jun 2014
Walton, Stephen T. P.O. Box 277 Wha Ti 30911 ultrices.posuere@miAliquam.net 29 Mar 2016
Weaver, Ronan H. Ap #910-249 Nibh Road Cargovil 60962 quis.tristique.ac@sit.co.uk 18 Nov 2015
Welch, Zahir S. Ap #141-8090 Gravida St. Wick 98222 suspendisse@ipsumvestibulum.ca 30 Oct 2015
Whitley, Mari J. 7761 Iaculis Rd. Bharatpur B68 4JK non.hendrerit@egestas.net 12 Nov 2015
Whitley, Ruby R. Ap #275-8550 Erat, Rd. Clydebank S8R 2R8 vel.est.tempor@Crasvulputate.ca 14 Apr 2016
Wolfe, Mira S. 2562 Mauris Street Lovis 02437 magna.praesent.inter@etultrices.net 19 Apr 2016